Why South Africa?

Everyone keeps asking why I chose to go to South Africa… I guess for most people (including myself before I did some research), it seems a little random. Here are a few main reasons as to why I chose the “Rainbow Nation” as my study abroad destination:

1. It is beautiful and filled with an endless amount of nature that cannot be witnessed in many other places around the world (also, I will be able to see a lion–the coolest animal on the planet)

2. They speak english (and 10 other languages, but still, english)– I am not the best at the memorization aspect that comes along with learning languages (english is a challenge itself)

3. When else can I go to South Africa?!?!

4. While in South Africa I will be participating in a service learning certificate called Learning for Sustainable Community Engagement (LSCE).  I will be working with the Lyndoch Primary School during my semester.  As a social work major, the LSCE program gives me an opportunity to work with children and families of a different culture–a very important concept in the social work field. I am extremely excited to participate in the LSCE certificate!

5. Lastly, for those of you who don’t know me well, I NEVER really do anything normal. I want to push myself out of my comfort zone and experience what I am capable of.

I have been reading about culture shock recently, and have found that most people suggest to not have too many expectations (as unrealistic expectations lead to disappointments, etc.). Well, the good news for me (and I guess this could also have it’s repercussions) is that I have no expectations at all! Not because I have not done any research about South Africa (because I have), it’s because South Africa is the most diverse country I have ever researched, EVER. After hours upon hours of researching it’s schools, towns, parks, oceans, history, animals etc., I still cannot wrap my head around the vastness of South Africa. It is a beautiful country and I cannot wait to experience the opportunity I have been given. After filling out so many forms and stressing about my Visa, I am so excited to say I am leaving tomorrow! South Africa already feels like my second home.

Until next time (when I am in South Africa!),

Leah

4 thoughts on “Why South Africa?

  1. Leah! I love you! I know you will have an amazing time and I can’t wait to hear about all the people you will meet and the places you will go in the next 5 months. You’re the best! Kinda.
    – Your Sista ❤

Leave a Reply

