Week Four

Hey everyone!

I have officially been in South Africa for a month! It is crazy how fast time is flying by. This past week has been great (as it always is in South Africa).

This past Thursday I went to Cape Town with two friends, got lunch, and walked around. The president (Jacob Zuma) was giving his address that day (it also announced the opening of the Parliament) so the city was pretty busy. The election will be going on while I am here, and I am extremely interested to see how it plays out. I have learned so much about Jacob Zuma and the government since I have been here (and it’s effect on the nation).  It is really very interesting, and if any of you are bored you should look into Zuma a little.

Saturday night I went with two friends to Lion’s Head mountain in Cape Town for a full moon hike. We began the hike around 6:45 PM and were able to see the sunset from the top…it was absolutely beautiful. The hike did not take long, but it was a little difficult. The top was pretty steep (we were basically rock climbing towards the end). On the way back down it was completely dark (thanks to my mom’s packing, I did have a flashlight!). Everywhere I have been in South Africa has been SO beautiful and scenic—more people should really travel here. My friends and I have been talking about what will be the most difficult thing when we eventually come home, and after thinking about it, I think it will be trying to explain everything I have seen. It is impossible to understand South Africa unless you have been here.  It’s really just mind-blowing how much poverty you can see on one side of a road and then turn your head to the other side and see the most beautiful and relaxed scene. The two just don’t seem to fit together.  Also, on the way home we saw a HUGE fire on a vineyard. It was really pretty terrifying, and also sad because a lot of people work on the vineyard and need the money (even though the pay is barely enough to survive already).

Lion's Head

Lion’s Head

Lion's Head

Lion’s Head

Lion's HEad

Lion’s Head

On Sunday I went with AIFS to see Freshlyground in Kirstenbosch, Cape Town. If any of you are curious, Freshlyground played the song Waka Waka (This Time for Africa) with Shakira. At the end of the song the band played Waka Waka and it was so cool! It was so serene and perfect listening to the song while in Africa. Kirstenbosch is a beautiful garden (that is once again surrounded by mountains). It was over 100 degrees on Sunday so that was a little difficult, but we sat in the shade and pushed through. It has been really hot lately (at least the mid-upper 90s)—February is the hottest month in South Africa. There is no air conditioning in my dorm room (or really anywhere here) so that can make it a little difficult sometimes.

Kirstenbosch, Cape Town
Kirstenbosch, Cape Town

Lastly, today (Tuesday) I went skydiving! For those of you who don’t know, I really dislike roller coasters. Needless to say, I was pretty proud of myself! Skydiving was the most amazing thing I have EVER done. We were 3 km in the air when I jumped (a little less than 2 miles). I was terrified, but once I jumped all my fears went away and it was so fun! I was free falling for about 30 seconds (my favorite part) and then was in the air for about 5 minutes once the parachute opened. Everyone should really skydive at some point in their life.  It was really so crazy and awesome!

Sky diving!
Sky diving!
Sky diving!
Sky diving!
Sky diving!
Sky diving!

LSCE has been going really well and I am really optimistic for my semester with the grade 5 class.  Below are two youtube videos that further explain Lynedoch Primary School and the LSCE class.  The first clip has Grant Demas, my LSCE teacher in it. The second is the past LSCE groups end of the year presentation (what Grant calls the “celebration of work”).

Lynedoch
Lynedoch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lw_BUwcAMJE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BxF4u00Sd0Q

Until Next time!,

Leah

 

Leave a Reply

