Week 8

Hey everyone!

I am getting a little behind on these blog posts. This past week has been fairly relaxing so I am going to make this quick (in preparation for some exciting weeks coming up!). Tomorrow marks my two months since leaving America…how crazy. Time is FLYING by at a scary rate and I know it will just keep getting faster.

This past Monday I probably had the most hectic day at LSCE. The train that we take every class came early, so half of the class missed it (which meant rescheduling some of our lesson plan with the children).  Similar to the dysfunction in the morning, we had to run to the train when we were leaving from LSCE. It seemed like something out of a movie…where the actor is running toward the train and jumps on right before it beings moving again (something like that).  Besides the hectic lesson plans/transportation, the day went fairly well since the children are always so eager for us to come.

LSCE grade 5

LSCE grade 5

Last Thursday I went to a Braai (South African barbecue) with some friends in a dormitory nearby. In South Africa, there is a braai at EVERY event.

This past Friday I stayed at LSCE for 11 hours because the school had it’s annual bazaar. They sold a lot of food, candy, desserts, vegetables, etc. The whole community came out to support the school, and we got to meet some of the student’s parents, which was nice. Overall, the day was fun, but was also extremely exhausting.

On Saturday I went with two friends on a wine tour to multiple wine farms. I am proud to say that I am FINALLY beginning to be okay with the taste of wine! But, I am also getting tired of having wine at every event, including school functions. We got to see Spier Wine Farm—they donated 1.5 million Rands to the Lynedoch School plus fund a few teacher’s salaries.  While some farms treat their workers horribly, Spier (where some of the kid’s parents work) treat their workers fairly. The weather was perfect since it is beginning to cool down (unfortunately also marking the beginning to the raining season).

Alto Wine Farm

Alto Wine Farm

Alto Wine Farm tasting area

Alto Wine Farm tasting area

Megan and I at Spier

Megan and I at Spier

On Sunday I went with my LSCE class to a nearby coloured community called Pniel. Pniel is the first non-white community that I have seen that is doing well financially. The houses in the community were the first I have seen (for all communities) in the fast two months without bars on their window and barbed wire on a fence. The community members were so proud of their homes and history.  We went to the community (congressional) church service and then were divided up in order to go with different families for lunch. The church congregation altered their service from Afrikaans to English when we went and they had a band for us.  It was really nice! I went with Colleen to a family’s house for lunch afterward. The family had two daughters around our age, so it was really interesting and fun to talk to them. While there, I realized it was my first time being in a home for 2 months! The house felt so homey, it was a nice change of scenery for a little. The family was extremely hospitable and so welcoming.  Anyway, it was really great seeing a community that was thriving in South Africa!

Church band in Pniel

Church band in Pniel

Homes in Pniel

Homes in Pniel

Community church in Pniel

Community church in Pniel

This weekend I am heading to Cape Town and Simon’s Head. And next Friday I leave for spring break! I finally get to see the big 5 animals that Africa is famous for. I cannot wait!

On a side note, I only have 4 classes in the next three weeks. Maybe that will convince more of you to study abroad in South Africa (although convincing shouldn’t be necessary because studying abroad here is AMAZING).

Until next time,

Leah

One thought on “Week 8

Leave a Reply

