Week 9

Hi Everyone!

This past weekend was pretty fun/exciting! We didn’t have any class on Friday because of Human Rights Day, and tomorrow I do not have LSCE because the students have standardized tests that need to be completed. So, I have a 6-day weekend! Pretty crazy.

This past Thursday some friends and I went to Kirstenbosch Gardens to see an outdoor concert. An American singer named Donovan Frankenreiter (sounded somewhat similar to Jack Johnson) opened for KT Tunstall—someone I never thought I would see, but she was pretty good!

Kirstenbosch Gardens

Kirstenbosch Gardens

On Friday we left for our weekend Cape Town/Simon’s Town adventure. On Friday we took a bus (through the international office) to the Holi Festival in Cape Town. For those of you who don’t know, the Holi Festival is basically the color run but without the running and a lot of music (so, better than the color run in my opinion). It was really fun but also extremely tiring so we only stayed about 3 or so hours. The powered colored stuff was also a little difficult to breath in after a while. Afterwards, we went back to our hostel (which was extremely nice) and eventually left to walk down Long Street (the most popular street in Cape Town—a lot of bars and restaurants). We were able to chose the music they played at this particular restaurant we went to so of course we chose Beyoncé. After eating, we went to a few bars. My one friend and I got carded at one…apparently we look like we are 17 or younger (I know I look young, but not THAT young). After a while, we split up into two groups—one staying out late and one going back to sleep (which I did).

ONCE backpackers-long street

ONCE backpackers-long street

Holi

Holi

Holi

Holi

Kirstenbosch Gardens

Kirstenbosch Gardens

Long Street

Long Street

ONCE backpackers

ONCE backpackers

On Saturday we woke up and walked around Long Street and looked at some shops. We ate lunch at a Mexican restaurant (SO exciting since there is really no Mexican food here). Afterwards we went to a Museum about an area called District Six.  Before Apartheid, District Six was a community that included people of all nationalities and backgrounds. From what I learned, it was not the most wealthy community, but everyone respected each other and were proud to live there. When the Apartheid regime came into effect, all the houses were destroyed and the black and colored population was forced to move into the Townships. The new “District Six” became an only white neighborhood. After the Apartheid era was over, about 2,000 people reclaimed their land (about 60,000 people were removed though). Anyway,  the Museum was pretty interesting (but also reminded me how grateful I am that I chose South Africa and do not feel pressured to go to museums). After the Museum, Colleen, Juliana, and I took the train about an hour to Simon’s Town (a little beach town towards the very tip of Africa). We went to the beach for a little, ate at a local fish and chips restaurant, and then relaxed at the hostel.

Simon's Town

Simon’s Town

Simon's Town

Simon’s Town

District Six Meusem

District Six Meusem

District Six Meusem

District Six Meusem

SImon's Town hostel

SImon’s Town hostel

MEXICAN FOOD

MEXICAN FOOD

Today we went back to Cape Town and went to the Waterfront. We got lunch and then went on a boat ride. The waves were pretty huge so it was actually really fun! We even got to see a whale, a penguin, and a seal! But, I will see many more of those animals plus tons of other animals in the next month or so. After the boat ride, we finally went back to Stellenbosch.

Waterfront

Waterfront

SEAL

SEAL

This upcoming week marks my half way point in South Africa! I have a presentation and a paper due so I have to seriously begin doing homework. However, Friday I leave for my spring break trip! I am going with my AIFS program on the Garden Route (down the coast of South Africa) for a few days and then Addo Elephant Park for a few days. I cannot wait!

Until next time,

Leah

2 thoughts on “Week 9

  1. Music to a mothers ears: the opportunity to bar hop and to be happy to be studying abroad in a country with minimal opportunities to visit museums. That gave me the best laugh. Loved the pics and you. Party on and when the opportunity arises study ,)

  2. I think you said the same thing last time you had Mexican food there a couple weeks ago… Also I’m not surprised at all they thought you were 17. I love you! Message me when you get wifi!

Leave a Reply

