Week 17

Hi everyone!

This past week hasn’t been TOO crazy. I have finished all my South Africa classes/schoolwork, and am now officially a junior! Between my LSCE celebration of work and a few activities I did this week, I had a lot of homework to do (well, in terms of South Africa study abroad amount of homework that I usually have).

On Wednesday I hiked Lion’s Head Mountain (in Cape Town) again. The view was even more amazing than the last time I hiked up. We watched the sunset over Cape Town, Table Mountain, and the ocean…it was very serene. Also, on the top of the mountain there were about 30 sorority girls from Lehigh University (pretty awesome because I’ve never seen anyone from around where I am from here). Also, I have learned that Pennsylvania is thought of as a very random state if you are form the Southwest/west/ etc. of the United States. Basically, my friends from California, Texas, etc. view Pennsylvania as we would view Idaho or something.

Lion's Head

Lion’s Head

Lion's Head

Lion’s Head

Lion's Head

Lion’s Head

After setting up for our celebration of work at Lynedoch for 4 hours (and then waiting in the rain for another 1.5 hours for a train),  we had our farewell dinner for AIFS (American Institute for Foreign Study…the program I came with) on thursday.

AIFS farewell dinner

AIFS farewell dinner

On friday I had my LSCE celebration of work. Basically, we displayed all the learner’s artwork, sad our final goodbyes, watched the documentary we made (if you want to watch the documentary, the link is below), and ate lunch. Leaving LSCE made me understand how difficult it will be to leave the country. I leave in 2.5 weeks…the time has gone by SO fast! The process of leaving is very bittersweet, but I have many things I am excited for at home as well. When I came to South Africa I was ready to come, and was surprised that I didn’t have THAT difficult of a time adjusting to a new lifestyle. Similar to how I felt leaving America, I feel that I will be ready to go home in 2.5 weeks (although I am not prepared for the intense amount of culture shock I know I will experience when I am back home).

Grade 5 teachers!

Grade 5 teachers!

Grade 5 artwork

Grade 5 artwork

Part of the wall we painted for Lynedoch Primary School

Part of the wall we painted for Lynedoch Primary School

Documentary Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NH2T-NT1diA&feature=youtu.be (You can only watch this on a computer…it wont work on a phone)

On Saturday my friends and I went to Cape Town with the man who is organizing our trip to Namibia. We went to a market called Old Biscuit Mill, and then went to a rugby game (South African Stormers vs. Australia’s Western Force). Stormers won! Following the game, we went to a restaurant and got dinner. Saturday was probably in the “top ten” of favorite days since I have been in South Africa. It was a beautiful fall day, and I really enjoyed going to the rugby game. While we were driving to Cape Town, Adrian (the man who took us to the rugby game) was explaining more facts about the nearby townships (also known as locations)…always interesting to hear about.

rugby game

rugby game

Rugby game

Rugby game

Today my friends and I had a potluck brunch, and this evening we are all going out to dinner together. I leave for Namibia on Friday and return next Monday (June 2nd). Just a heads up to everyone, I will most likely not have any internet reception for the 11 days, and therefore will not be able to contact people. Just if anyone is curious, Namibia is basically a huge desert. While there we will visit the 2nd largest canyon in the world (River Fish Canyon), Sossusvlei dunes—the oldest desert and highest sand dunes in Africa (possibly in the whole world), Augrabies Falls, and some other really awesome places. The trip is basically the king of all road trips (will travel about 3-4 hours per day, for 11 day). My next blog post I will write all about the amazing adventures of Namibia! And, it will most likely be my last blog post while I am in South Africa. How crazy!

I miss all of you back in America, and I hope you all are having a great start to your summer 🙂

Until next time,

Leah

Leave a Reply

